Different Types of Nursing Certifications Available Online

There are different types of nursing certifications available online to help nurses enhance their career paths. These include RN, BSN, HHA, and MSN degrees, among many others. Unfortunately, no single certification can provide a nurse with all the courses needed for success in the field; therefore, an individual must review their options and pick one accordingly.

Types of Nursing Certifications Available Online:

  1. Home Health Aide (HHA)

Home health aides provide basic care to patients in their homes. This type of Hha certification is a good option for those who want to work in the medical field but don’t want to work directly with patients. HHAs typically help bathe and groom patients, change linens, and prepare meals. They may also be responsible for providing medication reminders and transportation to and from doctor appointments.

  1. Certified Nursing Assistant (CNA)

CNAs work in various settings and provide care under registered nurses, physicians, and other medical staff. This certification does not require an associate’s degree or previous nursing experience; however, it is recommended to have completed high school courses such as English and science. CNAs must also pass a state exam that is valid for two years upon passing. In addition, CNAs are required to complete a minimum of 80 hours of training during their first year on the job and 40 additional hours within the following year.

  1. Licensed Practical Nurse (LPN)

An LPN provides basic care to patients under the direction of a registered nurse. This certification typically requires one year of training and is considered an entry-level nursing degree. Upon passing a state exam, this certification lasts for two years but must be renewed with additional testing after that period expires. Nurses must complete 40 hours of continuing education within the first year and 20 hours every following year to keep this certification.

  1. Registered Nurse (RN): 

An RN provides care for patients with serious conditions in various settings such as hospitals, clinics, and nursing homes. This degree requires an associate’s degree and typically takes two years to complete. The RN certification is valid for four years; however, nurses must continue their education throughout this period by taking courses such as anatomy and physiology every year to keep the license active.

  1. Bachelor of Science in Nursing (BSN)

A BSN is a four-year degree that provides nurses with the necessary courses to work as an RN. Many hospitals and clinics now require their nurses to have at least a BSN. Nurses who hold this certification can typically find jobs in a variety of settings, including critical care units, clinics, and hospitals.

  1. Master of Science in Nursing (MSN)

An MSN is a graduate-level degree that prepares nurses for leadership roles within the medical field. This certification typically takes two to three years to complete and requires a BSN. Nurses who hold this certification can work as practitioners, clinical nurse specialists, or nurse educators.

In conclusion, there are a variety of nursing certifications available online that can help nurses enhance their career paths. However, it is important for nurses to review their options and pick one that best suits their needs.


Back To Top